Rate this post

Senator Debbie Stabenow, Representative Joe Barton, Frying Pan Planner Linda Cooper O’Leary Receive Honors

WASHINGTON– The Parkinson’s Action Network (FRYING PAN) honors 3 identified recipients at tonight’s 15th Yearly Morris K. Udall Honors Supper at the Funding Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C. Legislator homepage Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) and also Rep Joe Barton (R-TX) receive the Morris K. Udall Honor for Civil Service, and also PAN Arizona Co-State Planner Linda Cooper O’Leary receives the Milly Kondracke Honor for Superior Advocacy.

” It is really an honor to host such distinguished public servants as well as one of PAN’s finest advocates at our annual Udall Honors dinner,” claimed Amy Comstock Rick, Frying Pan President. “Sen. Stabenow, Rep. Barton, as well as Linda Cooper O’Leary stand for the best of what civil service and also campaigning for can be.”

” I am recognized to get the Public Service award, and I am so delighted to be a small part of the tradition of the unbelievable Morris K. Udall,” claimed Sen. Stabenow. “Discovering a remedy for Parkinson’s illness has actually been a priority of mine ever since I was elected to office … as well as I will certainly remain to do my component to ensure the Federal Government is making a strong commitment to medical study.”

” I am proud to sign up with the checklist of distinguished recipients of the Parkinson’s Action Network’s Morris K. Udall Honor,” stated Rep. Barton. “My service the National Institutes of Health And Wellness (NIH) Reform Act of 2006 … is a beaming instance of the method Congress is expected to work. It puts study cash in the locations where it can aid more people as well as do the most good.”

” To be offered this honor that was established to remember the courage and resolution that were the characteristic of Milly Kondracke is a difference like nothing else,” said O’Leary. ”

  • PAN has given me a positive focus as well as has actually instilled in me that also I can probably make a small change in the landscape of Parkinson’s advocacy.”
  • PAN’s annual Morris K. Udall Awards Dinner honors those public servants and also supporters that present outstanding leadership on Parkinson’s illness issues.

It is frying pan’s only charity event, and the supper remains to commemorate the success of frying pan with the past year. Michael J. Fox acts as the Honorary Chair, while National Public Radio host Diane Rehm and also her hubby John work as supper Co-Chairs. Champ bicyclist Davis Phinney– among 3 Americans to win several stages of the Tour de France– signs up with Rehm as a special program guest.

Sen. Debbie Stabenow is the owner and co-chair of the Senate Parkinson’s Disease Caucus. Dealing with frying pan in 2005, she presented the Morris K. Udall Parkinson’s Condition Research Act Amendments, the concepts of which were included as part of the reauthorization of NIH. Rep.

Joe Barton led the battle to pass the NIH Reform Act of 2006. This crucial legislation makes certain money is routed to the study projects that require it most, including those important to the Parkinson’s community.

Linda Cooper O’Leary was identified with Parkinson’s disease in August of 2003. Along with her PAN campaigning for in Arizona, O’Leary volunteers with the Big Brothers Big Siblings Program. She presently serves on a number of nationwide committees which include the Patient Advocate board for the National Mayo Health Care System and also the Parkinson Network of Arizona.